JEE Main 2021 Eligibility Criteria, Qualification, Age (Available) – Check Category wise Eligibility Here

JEE Main Eligibility 2021 has been published by the National Testing Agency (NTA). This is the main authority responsible for the exam that organizes the joint entrance exam (JEE Main). This examination is a national level exam aimed at providing admissions to undergraduate engineering courses at IIT, NIT, and IIIT. It is done in 2modes that are on-line (computer-based mode) and offline (mode and pencil-based paper).

JEE Main 2021 Eligibility Criteria include numerous essential parameters like Age, Qualification, Attempts, Marks and numerous other important factors that should be known to the students before applying for the JEE Main Examination 2021. Previously JEE Main was conducted by CBSE but from the year 2021, JEE Main are going to be conducted by NTA.

It is very important for the students to understand the whole eligibility criteria to make sure that they completely satisfy that eligibility. For admission to B.Arch. Programmes, candidates got to have 50% marks in PCM in aggregate and separately.

JEE Main 2021 Eligibility:

Next, we have mentioned all the main points concerning the JEE Main 2021 Eligibility Criteria to appear on the examination. Candidates should fully adjust to the given eligibility.

JEE Main 2021 Basic Eligibility Criteria:

International NRIs, PIOs, OCIs & Foreign national candidates can also apply.
Nationality Indian
Identity Proof Any Valid Government issued ID Proof
No. of Attempts 3 Consecutive Years
Adhar (UIDAI Letter) Not Compulsory
Age Limit No Age Limit
B.Arch. Programmes: PCM in 10+2 with Minimum 50 % Marks
Passed, Appeared in 12th Irrespective of their age can appear in JEE (Main) Examination
Year of Appearance Passed 10+2 in 2017,18 and Appeared in 2019 Eligible for Both Sessions
Passed 12th in 2016 or Before Not Eligible for JEE Main
Percentage for For admissions to NITs/ IIITs/ GFTIs ·         Gen- 75% Aggregate

·         SC/ST/PwD – 65% Aggregate

JEE Main 2021 Qualification Criteria:

Qualification 10+2 from Central/ State board like CBSE, ICSE, Council for the Indian School Certificate Examinations, New Delhi, NIOS, etc.
Intermediate/Pre University/Pre Degree Courses Valid if It is recognized Board/ University
National Defence Academy Final Year 2-year course of the Joint Services Wing (JSW)
Vocational Examination HSC
NIOS Senior Secondary School Examination with a minimum of 5 subjects.
Diploma 3 Years Course from AICTE or State board of technical education
10+2 Association of Indian Universities (AIU) recognized school, board, university examination in India or any foreign country
Passing Marks No prescribed percentage

Note- No board marks are counted for appearing in JEE Main from the year 2017.

Age Limit Eligibility:

For appearing in the JEE (Main) examination there is no age limit for the candidates. The candidates who have
passed class 12th / equivalent examination in 2018, 2019 or appearing in 2020 irrespective of their age can appear in
JEE (Main) examination – 2020. The candidates should also satisfy themselves about their fulfilling the age limit
requirements of the Institutes in which they are desirous of taking admission. The candidates must note that the IITs
have an age limit/restriction, which will be published in JEE(Advanced)-2020 Information Brochure.

List of Qualifying Examinations (QE)

i. The final examination of the 10+2 system, conducted by any recognized Central/ State Board, such as Central
Board of Secondary Education, New Delhi; Council for the Indian School Certificate Examinations, New Delhi;
ii. Intermediate or two-year Pre-University examination conducted by a recognized Board/ University.
iii. Final examination of the two-year course of the Joint Services Wing of the National Defence Academy.
iv. Senior Secondary School Examination conducted by the National Institute of Open Schooling with a minimum
of five subjects.
v. Any Public School/ Board/ University examination in India or in any foreign country recognized as equivalent to
the 10+2 system by the Association of Indian Universities (AIU).
vi. Higher Secondary Certificate Vocational Examination.
vii. A Diploma recognized by AICTE or a State board of technical education of at least 3-year duration.
viii. General Certificate Education (GCE) examination (London/Cambridge/Sri Lanka) at the Advanced (A) level.
ix. High School Certificate Examination of the Cambridge University or International Baccalaureate Diploma of
the International Baccalaureate Office, Geneva.


Passing Year Eligibility Criteria:

Only those candidates who have passed their Class 12th Examination or any equivalent qualifying examination
in 2018 or 2019; or those who are appearing in their Class 12th Examination or any equivalent qualifying
examination in 2020 is eligible to appear in JEE(Main) April -2020 Examination.
Candidates who passed Class 12th/Qualifying examination in 2017 or before as well as those who will appear in
such examination in 2021 or later are not eligible to appear in JEE (Main)–2020.
Candidates must note that the IITs permit only two attempts for the JEE (Advanced), i.e. a candidate should have
appeared for the Class XII (or equivalent) examination for the first time in either 2019 or 2020, subject to the
condition of not having been admitted at an IIT on an earlier occasion. Details may be obtained from the Information
Brochure of the JEE (Advanced)-2020.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *